Last year, Apple announcedis a new iOS security feature designed to quickly view all the information (location, credentials, etc.) shared with someone else and instantly revoke those permissions in case of domestic violence. .
However, the safety checkPeople who care about their privacy and security. This feature not only protects you from abusers, but also monitors all downloaded applications and helps you revoke permissions for them, including access to your phone’s camera and speakers.
If you don’t want some apps to have access to certain information, Safety Check is the easiest way to review this information and stop access entirely. Here’s how to use it:
And if you want to learn more about Apple’s privacy and security features, check out the new, When .
Use Safety Check to view and revoke app permissions on iPhone
Launch the Settings app on your iPhone and Privacy and security > Security verificationHere you will see some options. emergency resetjust that, emergencies, and Manage sharing and accessThis is what you use to manage app permissions.
After tapping Manage sharing and access, Face ID or Touch ID to access security features. Then you’ll get a detailed overview of what you can see, including people, apps, and account security. Again, we focus on app permissions, so we look at all applications and what information they have access to.
Press blue to go to the share with people section skip This is the second step of the safety check function. You’ll see a list of third-party apps and a short description of the information they share (Bluetooth, camera, location, etc.).
To revoke app permissions, check the circle next to the app and tap Stop access to apps Buttons at the bottom of the page. You can revoke permissions for multiple apps at once by selecting multiple apps. If you want to see everything a particular app can access, tap the info button (ⓘ). You can revoke specific permissions, such as local network or location, but not all permissions.
The most extreme thing you can do is hit Select all and stop accessHowever, we do not recommend this option as the application requires certain permissions to function.
You can also revoke permissions with information.Tap information Clicking on a tab will list all the information being accessed, not the apps. For example, you can remove media library or calendar permissions from all apps that have them at once.
Once you’re done revoking app permissions, skip the rest of the safety checks, or quick exit option on the top right.